Kevin P. Thompson Award for Dr. Ulrike Fuchs

asphericon's Dr. Ulrike Fuchs receives award from The Optical Society of America (OSA) for significant contributions to optical industry.

Winner of the 1st Kevin P. Thompson Award Dr. Ulrike Fuchs

asphericon’s Vice President Strategy & Innovation receives OSA Award for significant contributions in optics

Jena, August 2018:Dr. Ulrike Fuchs receives Kevin P. Thompson Optical Design Innovator Award from The Optical Society of America (OSA) for significant contributions to optical industry. The prize honors persons who have already produced significant insights into their research discipline at an early career stage. First awarded at Frontiers in Optics in 2018, the award was created in 2017 in memory of Dr. Kevin P. Thompson.

The Kevin P. Thompson Award honors Dr. Ulrike Fuchs for the innovative combination of optical design and manufacturing processes. The jury also acknowledged her leading commitment in developing new products, including the establishment of the BeamTuning division and the market launch of asphericons beam expansion and beam shaping system a|BeamBox. asphericon CEO Sven Kiontke: “We are proud and happy to have the first K. P. Thompson award winner in our ranks. Dr. Fuchs’ work captivates through originality, creativity and a high degree of lateral thinking. The central focus of her work is the comprehensive linking and optimization of processes and technologies as well as the transformation into groundbreaking, innovative customer solutions”.
Her current work also includes the design, manufacturing and measurement of freeform optics.

The price

The Kevin P. Thompson Optical Design Innovator Award honors contributions to optical technology/industry, optical design and/or metrology. It was founded in 2017 by The Optical Society of America (OSA). The award is given to people who are in a very early stage of their career and have made an important contribution to the further development of their discipline or its application. Candidates must be within 10 years of the completion of their highest degree of education earned in the year the award is presented (except for career breaks, such as maternity leave). The prize will be awarded for the first time in 2018.

Name giver Kevin P. Thomson

Dr. Kevin P. Thompson graduated from the University of Arizona in 1980 and is particularly well known for his research on aberration fields of nonsymmetric optical systems containing freeform optical surfaces. He died at the end of November in 2015 at the age of 61 after a short illness. In addition to his research, Kevin P. Thompson was highly regarded for his work and commitment to the advancement of students/young professionals. Therefore, OSA honors besides the award winners him as a person.

Further information can be found at the OSA press release.

Contact Person
Dr. Thomas Hegenbart


Kontaktformular Startseite Button