close

Axicon

In contrast to aspheric lenses, the shape of an axicon resembles a cone. The conical shape of the axicon generates a ring-shaped beam profile. The diameter of the ring beam depends on the axicon angle and decreases as the distance between the axicon and image plane grows. The ring width (see Fig. 1) remains constant.

Axicon: Highly precise from asphericon

Besides an exclusive selection of highly precise 1” and 2′′ a|Axicons directly from stock, asphericon also produces convex and concave axicons as an Custom solution. The production of prototypes, small series or series is carried out according to the requirements of asphericons customers. Almost all optically effective materials are suitable for manufacture using specially developed CNC-controlled grinding and polishing processes. Precision of up to 200 nm global form deviation (irregularity) or 40 nm RMSi is achieved by asphericon

Applications of axicons

Anwendungsfelder AxiconsThe Axicon is primarily used in the field of beam shaping and in various laser applications. A particular use is also the generation of non-diffractive Bessel-like beams. An area with almost constant intensity distribution, the length of which is defined by the angle and diameter of the axicon, is of interest here (see Fig. 1). Bessel beams are non-diffractive and ideal for applications in medicine, research, in measuring technology and for adjustments. Specifically, they find use e.g. in optical tweezers and in light sheet fluorescence microscopy.
In combination with other axicons or lenses, various beam profiles can be generated, such as collimated ring beams and variable ring-shaped focal points.

The optical effect in combination with a|BeamExpander, a lens or a second axicon is shown below.

1. The illumination of the axicon is optimized by combining it with a Beam Expander. This makes it possible to vary the length of the generated Bessel beam.

1. The illumination of the axicon is optimized by combining it with a Beam Expander. This makes it possible to vary the length of the generated Bessel beam.

2. The diameter of the generated ring focus is defined by the focal length of the lens used. The generation of ring-shaped foci is used in material processing and in eye surgery, for example.

2. The diameter of the generated ring focus is defined by the focal length of the lens used. The generation of ring-shaped foci is used in material processing and in eye surgery, for example.

3. A collimated ring-shaped beam is generated by combining two axicons. The diameter of the beam changes with the distance between both elements.

3. A collimated ring-shaped beam is generated by combining two axicons. The diameter of the beam changes with the distance between both elements.

Further fields of application open up by adding a third optical element, here a second axicon or a lens. You can find some examples in the following graphic.

4. This setup enables the focal width of an asphere to be reduced, whereby focusing below the diffraction limit is possible. This is made possible by the ring-shaped illumination of the asphere.

4. This setup enables the focal width of an asphere to be reduced, whereby focusing below the diffraction limit is possible. This is made possible by the ring-shaped illumination of the asphere.

5. The setup shown is suitable to improve the focus quality of a spherical lens. Through what is known as zonal decompensation, the ring-shaped illumination of individual zones of the lens, effects of spherical aberration are eliminated and focusing is thus improved.

5. The setup shown is suitable to improve the focus quality of a spherical lens. Through what is known as zonal decompensation, the ring-shaped illumination of individual zones of the lens, effects of spherical aberration are eliminated and focusing is thus improved.

6. This setup is used to generate variable ring foci. By moving the second axicon, the diameter of the ring focus can be adjusted.

6. This setup is used to generate variable ring foci. By moving the second axicon, the diameter of the ring focus can be adjusted.

With the aid of specially developed mounts, our axicons can be oriented precisely to facilitate adjustment and achieve optimal imaging results. What’s more, mounted axicons, like all mounted lenses from asphericon, can easily be screwed to other elements using a metric fine thread. Learn more about the benefits of asphericons mounted lenses.

asphericon Custom Axicon

Based on your individual specifications, our optical designers develop the right axicon in terms of diameter, center thickness, angle and surface precision. Thanks to the latest production and measuring technology, a high level of precision is guaranteed.

Feel free to contact our experts for professional advice.

customized axicons

Production capabilities

a|Axicon

Do you require axicons with outstanding precision dimensions and directly from stock?
Visit our Webshop and order conveniently online. Here you can find a wide range of precision-polished axicons in the diameters 25.4 mm and 50.8 mm. Order before 12 pm (CET) and your axicon will be shipped within 24 hours.

axicons from stock
StockOptics Catalog Europe

mounted axiocns

Besides axicons, asphericon manufactures high-precision aspheres, aspheric cylinders, mirrors and reflectors as well as mounted optics and beam expanders.

schließen

Axicons

Im Gegensatz zur asphärischen Linse beschreibt die Form des Axicons einen Kegel. Durch die konische Form wird ein ringförmiges Strahlprofil generiert. Der Durchmesser des Ringstrahls ist abhängig vom Winkel und nimmt mit wachsendem Abstand zwischen Axicon und Bildebene zu. Die Ringbreite bleibt dabei konstant.

Axicons: Hochpräzise Fertigung von asphericon

Neben einer exklusiven Auswahl an hochpräzisen 1″ und 2″ a|Axicons direkt ab Lager produziert asphericon auch konvexe und konkave Axicons als Custom Lösung. Entsprechend den Anforderungen unserer Kunden erfolgt die Fertigung von Prototypen, Kleinserien oder Serien. Zur Fertigung mittels speziell entwickelter CNC gesteuerter Schleif- und Polierprozesse eigenen sich nahezu alle optisch wirksamen Materialien. Asphericon erreicht dabei Genauigkeiten von bis zu 200 nm globalen Formfehlern (Unregelmäßigkeit) oder 40 nm RMSi.

Anwendungen von Axicons

Anwendungsfelder AxiconsAxicons finden hauptsächlich Anwendung im Bereich der Strahlformung und in diversen Laserapplikationen. Ein besonderer Einsatz ist außerdem die Erzeugung nicht beugender Bessel-ähnlicher Strahlen. Von Interesse ist dabei ein Bereich mit nahezu konstanter Intensitätsverteilung, dessen Länge vom Winkel und Durchmesser eines Axicon definiert wird. Besselstrahlen sind nicht beugend und ideal für Anwendungen in Medizin, Forschung, in der Messtechnik und für Justagen geeignet. Konkret finden sie z.B. Verwendung für optische Pinzetten und in der Lichtscheibenmikroskopie.

In Kombination mit weiteren Axicons oder Linsen können vielfältige Strahlprofile erzeugt werden, wie etwa kollimierte Ringstrahlen oder variable Ringfoki.

Im Folgenden wird die optische Wirkung in Kombination mit einem BeamExpander, einer Linse oder einem zweiten Axicon gezeigt.

1. Durch die Kombination mit einem Beam Expander wird die Ausleuchtung des Axicons optimiert. Dadurch ist es möglich, die Länge des entstehenden Besselstrahles zu variieren.

1. Durch die Kombination mit einem Beam Expander wird die Ausleuchtung des
Axicon optimiert. Dadurch ist es möglich, die Länge des entstehenden Besselstrahles zu variieren.

2. Der Durchmesser des erzeugten Ringfokus wird durch die Brennweite der eingesetzten Linse definiert. Die Erzeugung von Ringfoki wird beispielsweise für die Materialbearbeitung oder in der Augenchirurgie angewendet.

2. Der Durchmesser des erzeugten Ringfokus wird durch die Brennweite der eingesetzten Linse definiert. Die Erzeugung von Ringfoki wird beispielsweise für die Materialbearbeitung oder in der Augenchirurgie angewendet.

3. Durch die Kombination zweier Axicons wird ein kollimierter ringförmiger Strahl erzeugt. Der Durchmesser des Strahles verändert sich mit dem Abstand zwischen den beiden Elementen.

3. Durch die Kombination zweier Axicons wird ein kollimierter ringförmiger Strahl erzeugt. Der Durchmesser des Strahles verändert sich mit dem Abstand zwischen den beiden Elementen.

Durch die Ergänzung um ein drittes optisches Element, hier ein zweites Axicon oder einer Linse, ergeben sich weitere Anwendungsfelder. Einige Beispiele finden Sie in der nachfolgenden Grafik.

4. Dieser Aufbau ermöglicht die Verringerung der Fokusbreite einer Asphäre, wodurch eine Fokussierung unterhalb der Beugungsgrenze möglich ist. Ermöglicht wird dies durch die ringförmige Ausleuchtung der Asphäre.

4. Dieser Aufbau ermöglicht die Verringerung der Fokusbreite einer Asphäre, wodurch eine Fokussierung unterhalb der Beugungsgrenze möglich ist. Ermöglicht wird dies durch die ringförmige Ausleuchtung der Asphäre.

5. Der dargestellte Aufbau eignet sich zur Verbesserung der Fokusqualität einer sphärischen Linse. Durch die sogenannte zonale Zerlegung, der ringförmigen Ausleuchtung einzelner Zonen der Linse, werden Effekte der sphärischen Aberration eliminiert und dadurch die Fokussierung verbessert.

5. Der dargestellte Aufbau eignet sich zur Verbesserung der Fokusqualität einer sphärischen Linse. Durch die sogenannte zonale Zerlegung, der ringförmigen Ausleuchtung einzelner Zonen der Linse, werden Effekte der sphärischen Aberration eliminiert und dadurch die Fokussierung verbessert.

6. Zur Erzeugung variabler Ringfoki wird dieser Aufbau verwendet. Durch Verschieben des zweiten Axicons kann der Durchmesser des Ringfokus justiert werden.

6. Zur Erzeugung variabler Ringfoki wird dieser Aufbau verwendet. Durch Verschieben des zweiten Axicon kann der Durchmesser des Ringfokus justiert werden.

Mithilfe speziell entwickelter Fassungen werden die Axicons von asphericon exakt ausgerichtet, um dem Anwender die Justage zu erleichtern und optimale Abbildungsergebnisse zu erzielen. Zudem lassen sich gefasste Axicons, wie alle gefassten Optiken von asphericon, leicht über ein metrisches Feingewinde mit anderen Elementen verschrauben. Erfahren Sie mehr über die Vorteile unserer gefassten Optiken.

 

asphericon Custom Axicon

Basierend auf Ihren individuellen Spezifikationen entwickeln unsere Optikdesigner hinsichtlich Durchmesser, Mittendicke oder Winkel das passende Axicon. Dank modernster Fertigungs- und Messtechnik wird ein Höchstmaß an Präzision erreicht. Kontaktieren Sie gerne unsere Experten und lassen Sie sich im Detail beraten.

individuelle Axicons
Fertigungsmöglichkeiten

a|Axicon

Sie benötigen Axicons mit herausragenden Genauigkeits-dimensionen und direkt ab Lager?
Besuchen Sie unseren Webshop und bestellen Sie bequem online. Hier finden Sie eine große Auswahl an präzisions-polierten Axicons in den Durchmessern 25,4 mm und 50,8 mm. Erhalten Sie Axicons innerhalb 24 Std. nach Bestellung bis 12 Uhr (MEZ).
Axicons ab Lager

StockOptics Katalog Europa 2017

gefasste Axicons

Neben Axicons fertigt asphericon hochpräzise Asphären, asphärische Zylinder, Spiegel und Reflektoren, sowie gefasste Optiken und BeamExpander.